Armors

A central place to talk about weapons and armour, as it relates to your kit. This is where you show it of or talk about making it. Discussing the relative merits of types of weapons goes in the WMA section.

Moderators: caedmon, Greg

Eledhwen
Thangailhir

Armors

Post by Eledhwen »

I have been thinking a lot about armor of late. Maile is the armor most people associate with knights, dwarves, adventurers and whatnot. I have been making maile of various kinds for more than 30 years, from the early days of 12 gauge bailing wire (in which I ran five miles each day O-o) through to 16 gauge riveted maile more recently. It is flexible, it looks good...and it is heavy.

I am not as young as I was. For many years I wore aluminum scale armor rather than maile as it was lighter, simpler to make, easier on the eyes and hands. Each scale was 1/16" thick, 2" long, and 1" wide...in their day very small for the SCA where scales tended to be much larger, made of leather, and much rarer. I had an eighth of an inch of armor over my entire torso, minimum. It was not as heavy as maile..but it is still somewhat heavy and being a corselet, not subject to belting as the maile shirts I had were.

All this is leading up to something I have been leaning more towards of late. I hunt and I love my bows and my archery. Historically archers often wore gambesons, padded garments worn under armor by soldiery but also alone by those without heavier armors. Well and good, I have a very nice gambeson..but it is red so I have to make another one of black, green, or brown. No, it is not armor per se...padded at best of course and no protection against a sword, but it is light..and I could put a jerkin or jupon of studded leather over it if needs be....or just make the whole thing of linen lining, wool padding, and leather facing..with or without studs.