D&D 5E

The main focus of MERF is Dunedain Ranger reenactment, but we have a diverse cross-section of users that have multiple interests. Let your other Geek flags fly here.

Moderator: caedmon

E.MacKermak
Amrod Rhandir

D&D 5E

Post by E.MacKermak »

http://www.wizards.com/dnd/Article.aspx ... l/20120109

Looks like WotC has been bought by Games Workshop. I remember the 4th Ed stuff just came out in 08 or 09 (I saw it in the PX in Ramadi), and they are already planning 5E.

Personally I am a old school D&D player (started in about 80 or 81) and I largely stopped after 2E due to a lack of players and the introduction of Shadowrun. Might be interesting to see some of where this ends up going.
Still round the corner there may wait a new road or a secret gate and though I oft have passed them by a day will come at last when I shall take the hidden paths that run west of the moon, east of the sun.
Eledhwen
Thangailhir

Re: D&D 5E

Post by Eledhwen »

I started playing D&D in '74...Original D&D..and before that Chainmail and various other contrived combinations of miniatures rules.

I stopped playing actual D&D when it went to 4e. I play Pathfinder instead...it is more D&D than 4e has ever been. I worked for WotC for a time so had some notions of what was going on in the runup to 4e. I did not like it then, I do not like it now. I do not play MtG, nor am I interested in their online version of Dragon and Dungeon..although I was a constant subscriber to both in print form.

I love OD&D. At this point though, Pathfinder does everything I could want in a tabletop RPG and does it very well. I shan't return to Wizards over a name, however august that name may be.

Eledhwen
Nandalad!
Peter Remling
Athel Dunedain

Post by Peter Remling »