Some relatively new knives from Ringulf

A central place to talk about weapons and armour, as it relates to your kit. This is where you show it of or talk about making it. Discussing the relative merits of types of weapons goes in the WMA section.

Moderators: caedmon, Greg

Ringulf
Naugothrain

Some relatively new knives from Ringulf

Post by Ringulf »

These are a few of the peices I have been working on lately to exersise some of the new techniques, many of which have been learned right here from posts on this forum!
I started wanting to go beyond the Polymer handled blades (though they are quite popular due to their affordability and durability) They were the first step in my knifemaking journey.
I have been carving and sculpting for many years in wood and bone and many forms of clay, so I knew if I could learn some of the techniques of fitting natural materials to my blades it would be my next step to making quality weapons.
I am working with a gentlman in the SCA (he is a Laurel for those of you in the SCA, a crafting mentor for those of you who are not) and he works in bone and horn, wood and metal. He has been teaching me about casting and carving so I hope to be able to show you some very cool things as I learn more.

This is Lady Melbrigda of Oak Glenn with her seax who's name is the Hedgethorn or good old "Thorny" as we refer to him. Thorny is the hedgehog who sits as a pummel I carved from a very solid peice of hickory, One of my broken axe handles I believe)

I will post this and then put up the others in the continuation of the thread
I am Ringulf the Dwarven Woodsman, I craft leather, wood, metal, and clay,
I throw axes, seaxes, and pointy sticks, And I fire my bow through the day.
Come be my ally, lift up your mead! We'll search out our foes and the Eagles we'll feed! :mrgreen:
Ringulf
Naugothrain

Re: Some relatively new knives from Ringulf

Post by Ringulf »